SELECT COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE ETHICS PUBLIC MEMBER APPOINTMENTS AND VACANCIES REVISED POSTING

AS 24.60.130, AS 24.60.131, and AS 24.60.134. The Select Committee on Legislative Ethics (committee) is comprised of nine members; five public members and four legislators. One alternate public member shall be appointed to serve on the committee. Public members serve a three-year term and may be reappointed. The Chief Justice of the Alaska Supreme Court nominates public members. Nominees must be ratified by two thirds of the full membership of the House and Senate.

Public member terms expire on the first day of the legislative session. A public member continues in office until a successor has been appointed and ratified or until the 30th calendar day of the first legislative session that follows the successor's appointment, whichever is earlier.

A list of legislators and public members currently serving on the committee can be found at: <u>http://ethics.akleg.gov/committee.php</u> or obtained by calling 269-0150.

PUBLIC MEMBER TERMS EXPIRING IN 2016

- H. Conner Thomas Has submitted his name for consideration of another term
- Gary J. Turner Has submitted his name for consideration of another term

PUBLIC MEMBER VACANCIES

• In addition to those resubmitting names for consideration, two public member positions are now vacant.

ONE ALTERNATE PUBLIC MEMBER

• The alternate public member position is vacant.

QUALIFICATIONS:

- A resident of Alaska interested in serving on the committee.
- No more than one public member may be a former legislator.
- No more than two public members may be members of the same political party.
- May not be a legislator
- May not be a legislative employee
- May not be an elected or appointed official required to make a public official financial disclosure under AS 39.50.
- May not be an officer of a political party
- May not be a candidate for public office
- May not be a registered lobbyist.

GENERAL INFORMATION:

- Public members serve without compensation for their services, but are entitled to per diem and travel expenses authorized for boards and commissions under AS 39.20.180.
- Public members are required to file a Financial Disclosure with the Alaska Public Offices Commission covering the previous calendar year on or before the second Monday of January of each year. Public member nominees are also covered under AS 24.60.210(b). Contact APOC for additional information at 276-4176.
- The committee office is located in Anchorage.
- The committee meets on an 'as needed' basis. It is not unusual for the committee to meet at least four to six times a year. During session, all committee meetings are held in Juneau. During the interim, committee meetings are held in Anchorage.

TO APPLY TO BE A PUBLIC MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE:

- Send a letter of interest along with a resume to:
 - Chief Justice Craig Stowers, Alaska Supreme Court, 303 K St., Anchorage, AK 99501.
- The letter must include political party affiliation as noted on the voter registration file with the Alaska Division of Elections.